Geological characteristics of the Republic of North Macedonia

  • Emil Petrušev
  • Novica Stolić
  • Robert Šajn
  • Trajče Stafilov
Keywords: geology; tectonic units; lithological units; North Macedonia


Detailed description of the geological characteristics of the Republic of North Macedonia is given. The characteristics of the six major tectonic units are described: the Vardar zone (VZ) in Central Region, the Pelagonian massif (PM), the West-Macedonian zone (WMZ) and a small part of the Cukali-Krasta zone (CKZ) in the west, and the Serbo-Macedonian massif (SMM) and the Kraishtide zone (KZ) in the east. The geological map with these units is also shown, including the most presented lithological units: Quaternary alluvial and deluvial/proluvial sediments, Neogene, Paleogene and Mesozoic clastic rocks, Mesozoic, Paleozoic and Proterozoic carbonate rocks, Paleozoic and Proterozoic metamorphic rocks from Pelagonian and Serbo-Macedonian massif and Neogene, Paleogene, Mesozoic and Paleozoic magmatic rocks. Additionally, special attention is given to the Neogene and the Quaternary in North Macedonia.


Download data is not yet available.
How to Cite
Petrušev, E., Stolić, N., Šajn, R., & Stafilov, T. (2021). Geological characteristics of the Republic of North Macedonia. Geologica Macedonica, 35(1), 49-58.